ASEAN Healthcare

The adoption of universal healthcare coverage has opened the door to new and long-lasting partnerships between national governments and healthcare providers of all kinds. As growing economies in Southeast Asia seek to modernise their healthcare coverage, three countries stand out for their strong potential as key markets within the industry.

Indonesia, Vietnam and the Philippines each have adopted their own universal healthcare programmes. As enrolment grows with each passing year, the demand for new, high-quality hospitals increases. Experienced and specialised medical practitioners, high quality pharmaceuticals, modern equipment, after-sales service and many other resources are also greatly in need.

With each country’s new healthcare system in its early stages, the time is right for focused and intelligent investment. Companies looking to capitalise on the opportunities in each market will need to base their offerings on a nuanced understanding on the specific needs and inner workings of each country’s system, taking into account the budgetary and regulatory requirements as well as market expectations.

This introduction to healthcare opportunities in Indonesia, Vietnam and the Philippines provides the relevant background in all three markets, examining current enrolment numbers, private hospital partnerships, budgetary issues, and the general structure and challenges that characterise each country’s healthcare trajectory. The paper includes four key takeaways for healthcare providers seeking a foothold in the potentially lucrative ASEAN marketplace.

Our Healthcare Team


Xiaobo Cui
Global Healthcare Sector Lead
Xiaobo.Cui@ipsos.com
+86 10 52193224


Douglas Cassidy
Head – Indonesia
douglas.cassidy@ipsos.com
+6281288539293


Kiranjit Singh
Head – Philippines
kiranjit.singh@ipsos.com
+60322975679


Lynn Morgan
Head – USA and Europe
lynn.morgan@ipsos.com
+4402030594995


Masatoshi Shioda
Head – Japan
masatoshi.shioda@ipsos.com
+81368678269


Phong Quach
Head – Vietnam
phong.quach@ipsos.com
+84 12646 84 714

X
Please enter details to gain access to document for download.
 
First Name
Last Name
Company*
Email*
Go To Download Page